Good news! Philippine passport holders and 53 other countries can soon enter Russia with free e-visa. The free e-visa to enter Russia will be in force on October 1, 2019.

E-visa is a single-entry visa valid for 30 calendar days from the date of issuance. The permitted stay in the Russian Federation with an e-visa is up to 8 days starting from the date of entry, within its validity period. E-visa validity and/or the permitted stay under it cannot be extended.

While the e-visa is only valid in St. Petersburg and the region of Leningrad, it’s still great to add a quick stop to St. Petersburg as part of North Europe trip without having to apply for another visa.

Russian E-visa Conditions:

  • You have to enter and depart Russia through St. Petersburg & Leningrad Oblast
  • Single-entry business, tourist, and humanitarian visas
  • Visa valid for 30 days
  • Allowed stay is up to 8 calendar days within the validity period
  • Visa not valid for region outside of Leningrad (So, no Moscow)
  • Visa cannot be extended

Stating the obvious here, so if you want to visit Moscow or other region in Russia, or if you want to stay longer than 8 days, then you have to apply for regular tourist visa to Russia.

How to Apply for E-visa to Russia (St. Petersburg)

  • Fill in an application form from the Russian Foreign Affair e-Visa website between 4 and 20 days prior to the intended date of entry to Russia.
  • Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months with a free page for border crossing stamps.
  • Foreigners entering on e-visa are required medical insurance valid in the Russian Federation’s territory for the entire period of stay.
  • Upload Digital passport size photo – 35 x 45 ratio, light background, front facing face with no obstruction and now shadow to the face.

Download and print the notification with your e-visa, so that you could visually present it to passport control upon entering the Russian Federation.

Complete information can be found at the Russian Foreign Affair e-Visa Website

The Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg Russia

The 54 countries granted the free e-visa to enter Russia via St. Petersburg and other port of entries within the Leningrad Oblast:

  • Austria
  • Andorra
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • China
  • Czech Republic
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Kuwait
  • Finland
  • France
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • North Korea
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Turkey
  • Vatican

Per usual, e-visa grant does not guarantee your entry into the Russian Federation. You can be denied entry at a border crossing point should the circumstances referred to in Federal Law No. 114 FZ “On the Procedure of Exit from the Russian Federation and Entry into the Russian Federation” of August 15, 1996 arise.